Tags

,

Image provided by Noelle Phillips

Noelle Phillips (nee King)
Postdoctoral Fellow

Affiliation with UVic English: Undergraduate Student, B.A. Hons 2003

Special Book: A Wrinkle in Time, Madeleine L’Engle

When did you first read this book: Probably when I was about 12.

Which sentence from this book has special significance for you?

“Nnnoww, cchilldrenn, yyouu musstt nott bee frrightennedd att whatt iss ggoingg tto hhappenn,” Mrs. Which warned.
“Stay angry, litle Meg,” Mrs. Whatsit whispered. “You will need all your anger now.”

What does the sentence mean to you?

This book has always frightened, enthralled, and encouraged me. The character of Meg is so fallible, so prone to temper and to a lack of faith, that she was someone with whom I could completely empathize. She was awkward, frustrated, sometimes too smart for her own good, too socially inept, sometimes selfish, and sometimes angry. And she had a deep and abiding love for her family. She has always resonated with me on a deep level, and I’ve read the book more times than I can count – often (and I quote the first line) on a dark and stormy night.

