Tags

, , ,

Paula Johanson
Writer

Affiliation with UVic English: Graduate Student, M.A. second year

Special Book: The Lord of the Rings, J.R.R. Tolkien

When did you first read this book: Found it in my elementary school library when I was nine.

Which sentence from this book has special significance for you?

“Take it off! Fool, take it off! Take off the ring!”

What does the sentence mean to you?

I can still remember realizing who was speaking, though the character was not identified. Through this book I realized by reading how writing is crafted. The composition process is sometimes instantaneous and sometimes gradual, and for Tolkien composition proceeded through multiple revisions. I still re-read this book every few years, forty years later, learning about how to tell story.

