Tags

Image provided by John Archibald

John Archibald
Dean of Humanities

Affiliation with UVic English: Co-lodger on the 3rd floor

Special Book: Fortune and Men’s Eyes, William Shakespeare (& John Herbert)

When did you first read this book: My title and author are purposefully ambiguous because it was through reading John Herbert’s eye-popping play in Grade 12 that I first came across a Shakespearean sonnet (#29).

Which sentence from this book has special significance for you?

“When, in disgrace with Fortune and men’s eyes, I all alone beweep my outcast state…For thy sweet love remembered such wealth brings, That then I scorn to change my state with kings.”

What does the sentence mean to you?

From the heady scripts of kitchen-sink realism in Canadian drama to the wonders of Shakespeare’s poetry in one sitting, these lines opened my eyes to the beauty, power and potential of language in probing the vicissitudes of the all-too human condition. Thanks to Brian Conway, gifted teacher of theatre arts.

