Tags

,

Image provided by Ann Saddlemyer

Ann Saddlemyer
Professor and Master Emerita

Affiliation with UVic English: Faculty; Friend/Donor; I taught here in 1956-57 and from 1960-71; D.Litt. 1989

Special Book: John M. Synge Works, John Millington Synge

When did you first read this book:

I first encountered Synge when I was an undergraduate at the University of Saskatchewan while studying the Irish Literary Renaissance although I have since published on Yeats and others, Synge remains special.

Which sentence from this book has special significance for you?

“Every life is a symphony and the translation of this sequence into music and from music again, for those who are not musicians into literature or painting or sculpture, is the real effort of the artist.”

What does the sentence mean to you?

I included this passage from his notebooks when I was editing his works, in part because I too had begun thinking I would be a musician, but more because Synge did indeed translate the quality of music into a new kind of stimulating theatre.

