Tags

, ,

Image provided by Jessica Woollard

Jessica Woollard
Communications Officer at Queen Alexandra Foundation for Children and freelance writer

Affiliation with UVic English: Alumni, M.A. 2007

Special Book: Whylah Falls, George Elliott Clarke

When did you first read this book:

2003, in the second year of my undergrad at Laurentian University

Which sentence from this book has special significance for you?

“Numbers reveal truth. Words always have something to hide.”

What does the sentence mean to you?


I find it amusing that Clarke warns readers not to trust the words he writes, especially since the strength of Whylah Falls lies in his ability to convey authentic human experiences through beautiful, poetic language. To that end, I see Clarke’s words as a challenge. Like so many writers before me, I strive for authenticity in my art; this quotation renews my commitment to truth as the ultimate objective of every word I write.

